Courses

Human-Centred AI, University of British Columbia, Cristina Conati (Fall 2019), conati@cs.ubc.ca https://www.cs.ubc.ca/~conati/522/532b-2019/532-description.html https://www.cs.ubc.ca/~conati/522/532b-2019/readings-Fall2019.html (Reading list)

Human-AI Interaction, Carnegie Mellon University, Chinmay Kulkarni (Fall 2019), chinmayk@cs.cmu.edu but was first taught by Jeff Bigham (Fall 2018) jbigham@cs.cmu.edu http://www.humanaiclass.org/

Designing Artificial Intelligence: for the Long-term, Carnegie Mellon University, Chinmay Kulkarni (Fall 2020), chinmayk@cs.cmu.edu

Design of AI Products and Services, Carnegie Mellon University, HCI Institute John Zimmerman (Spring 2019), johnz@andrew.cmu.edu https://hcii.cmu.edu/courses/design-ai-products-and-services

HCI for Machine Learning, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, Ranjitha Kumar, ranjitha@illinois.edu Fall 2019: https://courses.engr.illinois.edu/cs598rk/fa2019/ Fall 2018: https://courses.engr.illinois.edu/cs598rk/fa2018/

Human-AI Interaction: CS6724: Advanced Topics in Human-Computer Interaction, Virginia Tech Kurt Luther (Spring 2020) kluther@vt.edu https://wordpress.cs.vt.edu/cs6724s20/readings/

Human-AI Interaction: CS279R Research Topics in HCI, Harvard University Elena L. Glassman (Fall 2020) glassman@seas.harvard.edu;
https://docs.google.com/document/d/1tR7G1ghLYpcqFj3v_E3CEBTAINIJuMTOumR1CCfykoo/edit

Human-AI Interaction, Williams College Iris Howley (Fall 2020) and (Spring 2021) ikh1@williams.edu https://sites.google.com/williams.edu/haiiteaching/home

Visual Analytics & Machine Learning, Vanderbilt University
Matthew Berger (Spring 2019) matthew.berger@vanderbilt.edu
https://matthewberger.github.io/teaching/vaml/spring2019/syllabus/

Visualization: Connections with Machine Learning, NYU Tandon School Claudio Silva (Spring 2020) csilva@nyu.edu
https://lukexuke.github.io/course/vaml/index.html

Social Robotics, Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam and Hong Kong Polytechnic Johan F. Hoorn (since 2017) johan.f.hoorn@polyu.edu.hk (no website, syllabus on request)

Stanford’s Human-centered AI Institute lists several courses, but I couldn’t find information On them https://hai.stanford.edu/education (I’ve written to Julie Stanford)

Stanford d.school course, Michelle Carney (Winter 2020), offers a project-oriented course Stanford d.school a course on Designing Machine Learning https://dschool.stanford.edu/classes/designing-machine-learning Course website and resources:: bit.ly/designingML2020

Swansea University (Wales, UK) has a new Masters of Science (organized by Matt Jones, Alan Dix, and Harold Thimbleby) Human-Centred Big Data and Artificial Intelligence, MSc https://www.swansea.ac.uk/postgraduate/taught/science/computer-science/msc-human-centred-big-data-and-ai/

Bristol University, UK, Centre for Doctoral Training in Interactive AI (1-year masters course followed by a 3-year PhD), contact Kacper Sokol, ks1591@my.bristol.ac.uk:
https://www.bristol.ac.uk/study/postgraduate/2021/doctoral/phd-interactive-artificial-intelligence/

Cambridge University, UK Interaction with Machine Learning Alan Blackwell (Spring 2021) afb21@cam.ac.uk https://www.cl.cam.ac.uk/teaching/2021/P230/

EU’s Humane AI effort looks promising (Yvonne Rogers steered me to this) https://www.humane-ai.eu/

There also exist courses offered at: U-Washington, GATech, U-Maryland, MIT, U-Michigan, U-Minnesota, CMU, UC-Berkeley, where these courses come from the HCI side.